My Week in Training – Week 31

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Tue, 2nd Aug 2011 78 2:45:11 Road 28.5 Strava – Garmin
Sat, 6th Aug 2011 84 2:59:40 Road 28.0 Strava Garmin
Sun, 7th Aug 2011 84 3:03:14 Road 27.5 Strava Garmin

Tuesday was another still, hot day in the Massif Central. I had previously mapped out a ride taking me part way along Stage 9 of this years Tour route (Issoire to St Flour). This section runs from Lempdes to Massiac, along the Allagnon River with a very slight uphill gradient but the roads are fantastic. Most of it had obviously been resurfaced for the Tour with such smooth Tarmac, the reduction in rolling resistance was really noticeable.

Going on from Massiac, the ride takes you up a 2nd Category climb (6% Average Gradient) with a 17km descent back down to Brioude. As I remember, I rode most of that in the 50×21, just grinding away in the saddle. I felt fine going up it, it’s just that after every turn, with a new road section unfolding in front of me, I thought that it might flatten out but it didn’t; not until 6.7kms.

Mid week was made up of packing, driving, eating in restaurants and disturbed sleep. We got back home on Friday evening and on Saturday, having missed a few days of training, I felt I needed to go out for a long ride. The trouble was that my energy levels were obviously quite low and therefore struggled on the Lewes 84km ride.

Sunday wasn’t that much better. It had the added disadvantage of a very strong and blustery SW wind, gusting at 25mph, hence the even slower time than the previous day.

I’ve very happy with my fitness level though, with just under 3 weeks to go.

Leave a Reply

