One week to go!

Nearly there, just one week to go (Until I leave for the Vendée, that is).

I’m slowly getting all the kit together. There’s only been one slight problem which has been resolved thanks to Zyro.co.uk, the importers of Altura panniers. A little while ago, I bought a Altura bar bag with the intention of using it on this trip. The trouble is that I no longer have the receipt and have never used it until now. It comes complete with a Map Flap which is sealed by the use of velcro strips which have come away from the plastic pocket. A quick phone call to them and they have very kindly agreed to put a new one in the post for me, at no charge. So, thanks again Zyro.co.uk. Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 31

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Tue, 2nd Aug 2011 78 2:45:11 Road 28.5 Strava – Garmin
Sat, 6th Aug 2011 84 2:59:40 Road 28.0 Strava Garmin
Sun, 7th Aug 2011 84 3:03:14 Road 27.5 Strava Garmin

Tuesday was another still, hot day in the Massif Central. I had previously mapped out a ride taking me part way along Stage 9 of this years Tour route (Issoire to St Flour). This section runs from Lempdes to Massiac, along the Allagnon River with a very slight uphill gradient but the roads are fantastic. Most of it had obviously been resurfaced for the Tour with such smooth Tarmac, the reduction in rolling resistance was really noticeable. Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 30

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Wed, 27th Jul 2011 39 1:30:09 Road 26.1 Strava – Garmin
Fri, 29th Jul 2011 39 1:26:37 Road 27.1 Strava – Garmin
Sat, 30th Jul 2011 39 1:24:23 Road 27.7 Strava Garmin
Sun, 31st Jul 2011 73 2:50:08 Road 25.7 Strava Garmin

I’m in France for 2 weeks of considerate drivers and good road surfaces. What with a tiring drive down to the Massif Central, my first day on the bike was Wednesday. This was a great ride with a 12km climb up into the hills up to a village called Champagnac le Vieux. The climb takes you through some really nice pine forests up to an altitude of 1000m. The descent, on the other side, was quite fast with a good road surface. Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 29

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 18th Jul 2011 40 1:32:55 Road 25.6 Strava – Garmin
Tue, 19th Jul 2011 84 2:42:46 Road 30.9 Strava – Garmin
Fri, 22nd Jul 2011 92 3:18:11 Road 27.8 Strava Garmin
Sun, 24th Jul 2011 33 1:55:12 Road 27.6 Strava Garmin

View from Burling Gap

View from Burling Gap

The weather forecast is awful for this week. Today, the westerly winds are really strong and blustery. It also looked like rain. I decided to take the Trek out today and go around Beachy Head, taking the camera with me, as the photo opportunity would be quite good at Burling Gap and Beachy Head.

Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 28

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 11th Jul 2011 92 3:23:06 Road 27.1 Strava – Garmin
Wed, 13th Jul 2011 92 3:21:57 Road 27.3 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 14th Jul 2011 84 2:50:50 Road 29.5 Strava Garmin
Fri, 15th Jul 2011 40 1:18:07 Road 30.2 Strava Garmin

Start of another week with a ride to Bewl Water and back (to Eastbourne) under beautiful blue skies. It was a nice ride but needed a couple of gels along the way to help with energy. Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 27

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 4th Jul 2011 92 3:10:24 Road 29.1 Strava – Garmin
Tue, 5th Jul 2011 39 1:27:19 Road 27.0 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 7th Jul 2011 39 1:28:46 Road 26.8 Strava Garmin
Fri, 8th Jul 2011 39 1:17:43 Road 30.4 Strava Garmin
Sun, 10th Jul 2011 83 2:47:09 Road 30.1 Strava Garmin

The weather just keeps improving at the moment. Maybe, I shouldn’t talk too soon. With very slight SE winds, this morning, I decided to go out and do the Rye ride again. It was really nice to have a bike that doesn’t creak any more, after changing the pedals to an old set. Obviously, the bearing are on their way out. Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 26

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 27th Jun 2011 91 3:47:39 Road 24.2 Strava – Garmin
Tue, 28th Jun 2011 40 1:22:47 Road 28.5 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 30th Jun 2011 72 2:29:06 Road 29.1 Strava Garmin
Fri, 1st Jul 2011 92 3:22:09 Road 27.4 Strava Garmin
Sun, 3rd Jul 2011 87 3:09:37 Road 27.6 Strava Garmin

It was a beautiful day on Monday, with very little wind, for once. With temperatures in the high 20s, Toby Field and I had rode to Bewl Water and back. Extra water had to be purchased at Wadhurst due to the excessive heat but all in all, this was a great ride. Continue reading

Rule #24

According to Velominati, the Keepers of the Cog, Rule #24 of Cycling Etiquette states that “Speeds and distances shall be referred to and measured in kilometres“. They go on to say that “This includes while discussing cycling in the workplace with your non-cycling coworkers, serving to further mystify our sport in the web of their Neanderthalic cognitive capabilities.  As the confused expression spreads across their unibrowed faces, casually mention your shaved legs. All of cycling’s monuments are measured in the metric system and as such the English system is forbidden.Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 25

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Mon, 20th Jun 2011 1hr Turbo Garmin
Tue, 21st Jun 2011 52 2:50:16 Road 18.4 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 23rd Jun 2011 52 3:03:56 Road 17.1 Strava Garmin
Fri, 24th Jun 2011 25 1:28:57 Road 16.6 Strava Garmin
Sun, 26th Jun 2011 52 3:09:20 Road 16.6 Strava Garmin

Monday started off as a bit of a miserable day and didn’t really improve at all, with rain in the afternoon. At least the wind had stopped. I just did an hour on the turbo in the garage. Continue reading

My Week in Training – Week 24

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Mon, 13th Jun 2011 25 1:32:54 Road 15.8 Strava – Garmin
Tue, 14th Jun 2011 57 3:21:11 Road 17.0 Strava – Garmin
Wed, 15th Jun 2011 25 1:21:35 Road 18.0 Strava Garmin
Sun, 19th Jun 2011 25 1:22:29 Road 17.8 Strava Garmin

Monday brought quite strong winds again, from the SW. For a change of scenery, and because of those winds, I decided to do the Beachy Head route in a clockwise direction, getting rid of the headwind early. After just a few miles, I realised that I really didn’t have that much energy. Thinking back, it’s was all down to the lack of carbs from the meals of the 2 previous days. Continue reading