My Week in Training – Week 28

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 11th Jul 2011 92 3:23:06 Road 27.1 Strava – Garmin
Wed, 13th Jul 2011 92 3:21:57 Road 27.3 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 14th Jul 2011 84 2:50:50 Road 29.5 Strava Garmin
Fri, 15th Jul 2011 40 1:18:07 Road 30.2 Strava Garmin

Start of another week with a ride to Bewl Water and back (to Eastbourne) under beautiful blue skies. It was a nice ride but needed a couple of gels along the way to help with energy.

Tuesday, I didn’t feel too well at all. I had a headache which I couldn’t shift and generally felt run down so decided not to go out at all. After a good lunch, dinner and rest, by the early evening, I felt a lot better.

Wednesday, I got up bright and early and was on the road to Bewl Water by 8am. The winds were Southerly which meant a tough headwind going out but a wind assisted return. It’s strange how I took it really easy up to Bewl Water which left me with plenty of energy for the return, including a personal best of the Kings Hill Road climb, a 3km, 5.2% average climb. I even managed to beat Monday’s time for the same course.

The weather is beginning to be very unsettled here with the winds, moderate, changing direction to westerlies for today, with rain expected within the next couple of days. I therefore decided to make it easier for myself and went out west, returning with a tail wind along the coast from Newhaven. I felt quite good, starting off slowly with plenty of spare energy for the finish.

With the weather forecasters forecasting rain for the week-end, I thought I’d better get another ride in while the weather was still OK. On Friday, I decided to do a fast 40k to see how my strength was progressing. With a strong Westerly wind, the outbound was going to be tough but off I went and tried to get and keep my HR in level 4 (of 5), which I did manage most of the way. A sub 1:20 is quite good going considering the climb of Beachy Head and getting home in 1:18, I was quite pleased and thought it might have been my fastest on this route until, while recovering in the garden, was going through the history on my Garmin and found a slightly faster ride a couple of weeks previously. Never mind.

Leave a Reply

