My Week in Training – Week 29

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 18th Jul 2011 40 1:32:55 Road 25.6 Strava – Garmin
Tue, 19th Jul 2011 84 2:42:46 Road 30.9 Strava – Garmin
Fri, 22nd Jul 2011 92 3:18:11 Road 27.8 Strava Garmin
Sun, 24th Jul 2011 33 1:55:12 Road 27.6 Strava Garmin
View from Burling Gap

View from Burling Gap

The weather forecast is awful for this week. Today, the westerly winds are really strong and blustery. It also looked like rain. I decided to take the Trek out today and go around Beachy Head, taking the camera with me, as the photo opportunity would be quite good at Burling Gap and Beachy Head.

I took it nice and easy to see if I could keep to my planned 26kph on a hilly, windy route. 25.6kph was the result. Could I do that distance at that intensity another 4 times? I think I could. I didn’t feel tired at all, after keeping my efforts within Level 2 (out of 5) for most of the ride. Up hills, I did venture up to Level 3 and low level 4 but made up for it on the descents with pedalling free recoveries.

Tuesday, I set off at 8am to beat the forecasted showers. I took the Fondriest and rode the fastest Lewes route ever, which includes a couple of climbs. I won’t say that they are tough as, compared to what I’m planning, they are just a couple of hills but the average speed on a hilly course is always reduced.

Nothing on Wednesday or Thursday as the decorating was calling out to me.

Friday, I weighed 12st 1lb (169lb – 77Kg). I haven’t been that weight in ages. At the beginning of the year I was 12st 8lb (176lb – 80Kg). Today was due to be dry with no wind to speak of so decided to go north to Bewl Water and back. I took it nice and easy and again, had plenty of strength for the return, where I did push myself a bit more. I’m very pleased with my fitness at the moment. The hill climbing seems to be coming together, possibly due to the weight loss.

Sunday, I decided to ride a new hilly route; a figure of eight to Seaford and back incorporating 734m elevation in 53kms. It’s quite a nice ride if you want a good workout with limited time.

Leave a Reply

