My Week in Training – Week 26

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 27th Jun 2011 91 3:47:39 Road 24.2 Strava – Garmin
Tue, 28th Jun 2011 40 1:22:47 Road 28.5 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 30th Jun 2011 72 2:29:06 Road 29.1 Strava Garmin
Fri, 1st Jul 2011 92 3:22:09 Road 27.4 Strava Garmin
Sun, 3rd Jul 2011 87 3:09:37 Road 27.6 Strava Garmin

It was a beautiful day on Monday, with very little wind, for once. With temperatures in the high 20s, Toby Field and I had rode to Bewl Water and back. Extra water had to be purchased at Wadhurst due to the excessive heat but all in all, this was a great ride.

Although Tuesday’s ride didn’t seem too much of a struggle, when I finished, I really thought that I’d ridden with a faster average speed than the stats the Garmin was showing. Maybe, it’s the fact that in the last 2 days, I’d ridden a total of 176 Kms, and was probably feeling the effects of it.

Thursday, I drove to Royal Tunbridge Wells to try out one of Scott Purchas’ regular rides. Scott is the UK distributor for Neil Pryde Bikes who have 2 models of bike; The Diablo and the Alize. Although I didn’t ride either, I did feel the weight of the Diablo which was incredibly light. This was the bike Scott rode on our 73 Km bike ride. It was good to ride on new roads, which turned out to be quite a lumpy circuit. Although I felt fine while riding (apart from when climbing hills) I had obviously pushed myself quite hard as, when I got home, my legs did feel a lot tighter than they normally would after a ride of this length.

I’m hoping that my finding hills a problem may be eased in the next few days as, this morning, I ordered a compact chainset for the Fondriest. At present, I have a standard double chainset (52/42) which, coupled with the 25 tooth cassette, makes for some hard climbing with a slow cadence.

Another still, warm day on Friday. Even though I had quite an intense ride yesterday, because of the weather, I decided to do a slow long one today so off I went to Rye, a ride I hadn’t done in a long time. This is a really nice ride going out inland via some really quiet lanes and coming back along the sea front via Rye Harbour. This part of the route brings us along the climb of Battery Hill, at Fairlight, a 1.7km climb with an average gradient of 7.7% where I beat my previous best time. By the time I got back into Bexhill, I was really quite tired even though I took it quite easy all the way.

By the time I got home from the ride, my order from yesterday had been delivered, so good work Evans Cycles. With the Compact Chainset fitted, on Sunday morning, I went out and rode the Rye route again, but this time with Mark Tearle who was evaluating a BeOne Carbon Bike, for CycloSport. We set off at 08:30 under beautiful blue skies and very little wind. As I said in a previous entry, he is much lighter than I am and has a knack of making climbs look effortless. Once in Rye, we stopped off at the Ship Inn for a well deserved coffee before making our way back along Rye Harbour and the sea front. Again, climbing up Battery Hill, I managed to beat my previous best time from Friday. It’s probably as a result of the compact chainset now fitted to the Fondriest.

After a fast descent into Hastings, it’s an easy run-in, albeit with a head wind, back to Pevensey, where Mark unfortunately got a puncture. Great ride though.

Leave a Reply

