My Week in Training – Week 23

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Wed, 8th Jun 2011 52 2:52:19 Road 18.2 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 9th Jun 2011 52 2:49:12 Road 18.5 Strava – Garmin
Fri, 10th Jun 2011 20 1:02:10 Road 20.1 Strava Garmin

Nothing Monday or Tuesday, for no other reason than the fact that I was too busy with other things.

Wednesday turned out to be quite blustery with showers forecast for the morning. Luckily, I escaped the showers but unfortunately, I wasn’t able to escape the wind. Having said that, knowing that the outward part of the Beachy Head loop was going to be hard going, I concentrated on my pedalling and ended up doing quite a good ride, averaging 18.2mph.

Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLs on Fondriest frame

Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLs on Fondriest frame

Wednesday afternoon, I went to the Tri-Store in Eastbourne and spent some money. I treated myself to a pair of Mavic Cosmic Carbone SL wheels. The wheels I had on my Fondriest were a pair of hand built 36 spokes on Ultegra hubs and CXP21 rims. By going to the new Cosmics, I have shaved a noticeable amount of weight from my bike. Thursday’s weather turned out to be similar to Wednesday’s and therefore, this was a good way to test the new wheels. So, first thing Thursday, with the Cosmics fitted with the same Continental GP4000s tyres as on my old wheels, I went out for the same ride as Wednesday, keeping to the same percentage of HR.

After 1 hour, I was averaging 19mph compared to yesterday’s 18.5mph. The noise these wheels make is a lovely smooth whooshing sound until you get out of the saddle and the sound then becomes more aggressive with every downward thrust of each pedal. Unfortunately, I got caught in a couple of showers. What difference in performance that made compared to yesterday, I don’t know.

Once the ride was complete, I uploaded the Garmin data to the Garmin Training Centre and compared the rides. Although both rides were done at an average HR of 154/155 bpm the end result was that with the new wheels, I was .3 mph faster than with the old wheels. I was actually expecting more but, in hindsight, the wind with the new wheels was slightly less than with the old wheels and in a slightly different direction. Also, these were two rides at quite good intensity, on consecutive days and so, for the latter ride, I would have been more tired than the previous day. the new wheels did feel more comfortable though, soaking up uneven road surfaces far better than the old wheels.

In order to confirm my suspicions, on Friday, I went out on a flat 20 mile routes. This is a route I do fairly regularly and due to the short distance, I tend to put the power on when I ride it. My fastest time this season was 19mph, a few weeks ago. Today, with quite strong Westerly winds, I did it in 20.1mph. This just goes to show that the Mavic Cosmic Carbone SLs do have a huge aerodynamics advantage over regular wheels.

And that’s it for this week.

4 thoughts on “My Week in Training – Week 23

  1. Hi There! Glad you are still working away, not long to go now! 🙂 I don’t get how you can ride 20 miles and for it to take over an hour and 2 minutes and for the average speed to be over 20mph. I make it 19.3029490616622 mph, roughly 😉 So, that makes the speed about the same as the previous ride, what was that about the aero advantage of the wheels? 😉 Seriously, this is an excellent blog, keep up the good work! If you need any advice let me know if I can help.

  2. Hi Quentin.
    Yes, still working away, both with the training and getting the Stages mapped out for GPS devices. I’m quite pleased with my original guesses though. All in all, I was about 97% correct. With the training, I’m increasing the weekly mileage as I am currently not working.
    You’re quite correct in your calculations however, I may have misled you in my figures. The distance was actually 20.78 miles.
    It’s very difficult to quantify the possible benefits of aero wheels unless they are tested in controlled conditions. I’m pretty sure that at speed, I’m probably 1 sprocket up using the Cosmics compared to normal wheels.
    Thanks for the support and yes, I probably will ask for advice at some stage.

    • I’m going to have to buy the 2011 Official Tour Guide ready for my HDTV 2011 TdF experience, it should be much more comfortable than last year! Going to be a good summer, watch the TdF on the TV then go and ride the Raid Alpine at the end of July 🙂 Which package/system/service are you using to plan your stages for your GPS?

      • Sounds good.
        I use http://ridewithgps.com/ for mapping the routes. There are a few others but I’ve stuck with this one. Allows sharing of routes quite well.
        I’ve just bought the Garmin 800 with European mapping (my Garmin Egde 305 broke), so that should help with getting to hotels and start of stages then, each stage will be mapped on the device which I will just follow. (I love technology – until it breaks down!)

Leave a Reply

