My Week in Training – Week 22

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Mon, 30th May 2011 110 6:51:45 Road 16.0 Strava – Garmin
Wed, 1st Jun 2011 25 1:25:14 Road 17.3 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 2nd Jun 2011 32 1:42:57 Road 18.4 Strava Garmin
Fri, 3rd Jun 2011 20 1:06:02 Road 19.0 Strava Garmin
Sun, 5th Jun 2011 18 0:59:35 Road 18.5 Strava Garmin

Bank Holiday Monday was the Tweet Run. What’s a Tweet Run? I hear you ask. Well, it was Mark Tearle’s suggestion a few weeks/months ago to organise a social ride for the Twitter cyclists in the area. A date was eventually set and I was tasked with devising a route. Looking up routes/cllimbs on http://www.strava.com, I came up with http://ridewithgps.com/routes/421976. It’s 51.7 miles with 4361ft of climbing. The route includes the following climbs:

  • Groombridge Hill 0.8 miles @6.9%
  • Bailey’s Hill 0.8 miles @7.2%
  • Brasted Hill 1.8 miles @4.9%
  • Hollow Lane 0.6 miles@4.8%
  • Kidd’s Hill 0.9 miles @9.1%
On the day, I ended up doing 110 miles with 7388ft of climbing as myself, Toby Field and Mark ended up riding the 25 miles there (including Toby’s first puncture of the day) and back (including Toby’s Second puncture of the day) and with a couple of wrong turns on the route, the mileage was increased slightly. In total, there were 6 of us (Simon Tyler, Richard Mitchelson and Martin Green). We were joined, for a few miles, by another 2 Bayeux Cycling Team riders who’s names escape me (Sorry!).
The 1st Cafe stop was courtesy of Ninetysix Degrees, on the A25 in Brasted. A panini, tea and a good hour later, we were off again. We all went our seperate way when we got to the start after the climb of Kidd’s Hill (The Wall) with Mark, Toby and I making our way back down to the coast along the old A22, with another Tea stop at the Duddleworth Tea Rooms.
I, for one, had a great day. In comparison with the Eastbourne Sportive of 8 days ago, which was the same distance, I felt much better on this one, mainly because of the more favourable weather conditions and also, because of the more leisurely riding speeds as this was a far more sociable ride.
Tuesday was a day off the bike, in order to recover. I don’t know if it was as a result of yesterday’s ride but, I spent most of the day nursing an ear ache. When I woke up Wednesday, the ear ache was gone and out I went on my Beachy Head 25 mile ride under cloudless Eastbourne skies.
Again, clear blue skies with very little wind and warmer temperature on Thursday so out first thing for a 32 mile loop north, which I tend not to do that often. I felt good but my legs were still suffering from Monday’s ride. In order to stretch them out, I rode quite a lot, out of the saddle, which seemed to loosen my tight legs.
Friday, after an afternoon of decorating, with tired arms, I went out for a fast 20 mile ride. With strong NE winds, it was a struggle to get an speed going out to Herstmonceux but once on the A271 and to a certain extent, the return from Hailsham, the wind was really helpful. I still only managed 19mph though. Hopefully, before the year is out, I’ll be able to average 20mph on a ride.
Nothing on Saturday but Sunday, went out for about 23 miles with Mark. I forgot to start the Garmin on this ride so it recorded about 5 miles short. I struggled up the hills to begin with as I wasn’t warmed up but also, due to the fact that I was trying to keep up with Mark who is about 8 kilos lighter than me. On the return leg, on the A271, we tried to do a 2-up TT thinking that the wind would be behind us but it turned out not to be so easy as the wind was mainly from the side. Again, I struggled a bit which makes me think that I need to step up the interval training a bit. We managed to stay dry though as the rains started just as we finished.
Leave a Reply

