My Week in Training – Week 21

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Tue, 24th May 2011 52 2:56:29 Road 17.8 Strava – Garmin
Wed, 25th May 2011 37 2:06:30 Road 17.8 Strava Garmin
Fri, 27th May 2011 25 1:29:11 Road 16.5 Strava – Garmin
Sat, 28th May 2011 25 1:26:43 Road 17.0 Strava Garmin

I presume it’s because of the increased mileage but I do feel a lot stronger on the bike. When you consider that last week, I did in excess of 250 miles, it does makes sense.

My first ride this week was on Tuesday, when I did my usual 52 mile Lewes ride which brings me around along the coast and up the climbs of Exceat and Beachy Head from the West. I decided not to ride on Monday as my legs were still very stiff from Sunday’s windy 106 mile effort and so, when I went out on Tuesday, I started off really slowly (Zone 2 of 5). I must be getting used to these longer rides as the outbound part of the journey was again into the wind but to a much less extent than Sunday. Swinging around and returning along the coast, I found I had plenty of spare energy and so pushed on a little bit. Going up the Exceat climb, I managed to get a PB and was very close to doing the same up Beachy Head. All in all, this was a brilliant ride.

Wednesday, again another cloudless sky, I went out on a new 37 mile route taking me out along the coast to Hastings and then, inland in a semi-circular loop via Battle and then back to Pevensey. I felt fine up to the hill out of Hastings and then felt quite tired. Obviously due to the mileage of the last week. It’s certainly not lack of food as I’ve been eating loads of good carbs for a little while now.

On Thursday, I decided that due to the way I felt on Wednesday’s ride, I should have a rest day.

Friday was grey and cold with scattered showers forecast throughout the day. I didn’t really feel like going out but felt I should because of Thursday’s rest day. I’m not sure if I felt this way because of the weather or because of the fact that I was still recovering from the 107 mile ride on Sunday. In any case, I did go out and rode around the usual Beachy Head 25 mile route but I did take it nice and easy, keeping my HR quite low throughout. Thankfully, it stayed dry for me.

Saturday, the weather really went downhill again. Strong SW winds with showers in the air made for a very hard 25 mile loop of Beachy Head.

Due to family commitments, Sunday was another rest day.

Leave a Reply

