My Week in Training – Week 18

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Tue, 3rd May 2011 21 1:05:24 Road 19.1 StravaGarmin
Thu, 5th May 2011 52 3:05:16 Road 16.9 Strava – Garmin
Sat, 7th May 2011 1hr Turbo Garmin
Sun, 8th May 2011 1hr Turbo Garmin

Nothing on Monday as Sunday’s ride ended up being quite tough.

Tuesday, after work, I went out for a quick 21 mile ride round Herstmonceux and Hailsham. It was very windy again, from the East, but after warming up, I was able to push myself quite well and ended up with a good fast ride.

Thursday’s ride turned out to be very eventful. To begin with, I had intended to ride out to Lewes, but heard that there was rain in the Brighton area. As the temperatures weren’t too good with overcast skies, I decided to don my leggings and rain jacket. As I set off, I was quite glad of the extra layers as the weather was on the change from that of the previous month’s long heat wave. I didn’t really want to push it so kept my HR quite low. At just under 25 miles, north of Lewes, I was fed the curb by a white van who, instead of overtaking, decided to just drive alongside me, at the same speed. My reaction can be seen on the Heart Rate graph on Garmin Connect. After that, the weather improved and I felt quite hot in my extra layers.

Beachy Head accident

Beachy Head accident

Eventually rounding Beachy Head, at the top of the zig-zags, I come across a blocked road with an overturned car, Police and vehicle recovery crew.

Apparently, a brand new car being delivered to it’s new owners drives off the upper, Beachy Head Road and rolled onto the lower, Upper Dukes Road. Hopefully, the delivery drive wasn’t too shaken up, which is more than can be said for the car.

As far as the rest of the week is concerned, due to time restraints and adverse weather, I ended up doing two, one hour spinning sessions over the weekend. I did my ussual 10mins warm-up, 5mins climbing, 5mins spinning, 5mins running intervals, 10mins spinning, 5mins climbing, 5mins spinning, 5mins running intervals and 10mins warm-down.

Leave a Reply

