My Week in Training – Week 15

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Mon, 11th Apr 2011 25 1:16:17 Road 19.8 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 14th Apr 2011 21 1:11:14 Road 17.6 Garmin
Fri, 15th Apr 2011 25 1:30:13 Road 17.0 Strava Garmin
Sat, 16th Apr 2011 25 1:20:53 Road 18.2 Strava Garmin
Sun, 17th Apr 2011 84 4:26:29 Road 19.1 Strava – Garmin

On Monday, I really pushed it on the way home from Brighton which, with the blustery Westerly wind, helped me get a Personal Best on both the Exceat and the East Dean Road climbs on Strava.

Unfortunately, due to work commitments on Tuesday and Wednesday, I have failed the #30daysofbiking challenge. This was unavoidable. I also hadn’t eaten at all well which meant that on Thursday, I had no energy at all for the intervals I had intended to do. I ended up just riding round at a low HR.

Friday, I commuted from Brighton again but with a Southerly wind. I took it easy and felt much better than the previous day.

By Saturday, my form appeared to be back to normal with a PB up Beachy Head.

Wiggle New Forest Spring Sportive 2011

Wiggle New Forest Spring Sportive 2011

Sunday, I was up early to drive the 110 miles to Brockenhurst. This was a Wiggle organised 85 mile sportive in the beautiful and quiet roads of the New Forest. I must admit, this event gets full marks for organisation, with minimal queuing for registration, great goodies given out at the start and finish as well as a medal for finishing!

For events of this length, I would normally stay within Zone 3 in order to conserve enough energy to finish the event. The problem was that I did tend to go slightly into Zone 4 which meant that I did find the last few miles a bit of a problem, especially the climbs. Having said that, I recorded a total time (including stops) of 4:35:14 which gave me an average speed of 18.5mph. Riding time (not counting stops) was just 4:26:29 with an average speed of 19.1mph which I was very please with.

The total for this week was a very healthy 180 miles with a #30daysofbiking total so far of 489 miles.

Leave a Reply

