My Week in Training – Week 14

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Links
Mon, 4th Apr 2011 21 1:07:02 Road 18.8 Garmin
Tue, 5th Apr 2011 25 1:27:47 Road 17.6 Strava Garmin
Wed, 6th Apr 2011 25 1:33.16 Road 16.5 Strava – Garmin
Thu, 7th Apr 2011 25 1:26:01 Road 17.9 Strava Garmin
Fri, 8th Apr 2011 25 1:25:29 Road 18.0 Strava Garmin
Sat, 9th Apr 2011 20 1:06:12 Road 18.9 Garmin
Sun, 10th Apr 2011 31 1:46:05 Road 17.8 Garmin

From this week, my working week has changed from 4, 10hr days to 5, 8hr days. Obviously, I no longer get a weekday off but the benefits are that, due to my times of travel, I can now take my bike on the train to London in the mornings and on the way home, get off at either Lewes or Brighton and ride from there. This means that not only do I increase my training mileage but I also achieve the #30daysofbiking goal more easily.

After last Sunday’s 85 mile Sportive, I felt quite weak the following morning but after a lot of snacking, an early lunch and loads to drink, in the afternoon I felt much better. My first commute ride home was from Lewes with a brisk easterly wind, which got me home in double quick time.

From Tuesday onwards, I did the commute from Brighton, along the coast road. Friday, along the way, I suddenly realised that I was actually putting down quite a lot of power without my HR going through the roof. It’s obviously the benefits of riding every day as this was now the 7th day in a row with a total of 258 miles covered.

What I saw on Sunday

What I saw on Sunday - Does that mean its a cul-de-sac?

Saturday was interval day, with a sprint every mile on a 20 mile ride and Sunday was a  nice easy ride in the morning before settling down to watch Paris-Roubaix in the afternoon.

This week has been a great week with a huge increase in mileage as a result of #30daysofbiking which has really increased my strength. 172 miles since Monday but 309 miles so far this month.

I have made one change to my bike this week. After looking at the videos from the inaugural Eastbourne #30daysofbiking ride, where I’m riding the red Fondriest, I did notice that I had the saddle set up quite high. I suppose that I had got used to that position but I have since lowered it by just under 1 cm. This has actually made the bike a lot more comfortable, especially when riding on the drops.

I’ve also retired the Mavic Cosmic Pro wheels which I have had for a few years now. The front went out of true all of a sudden on smooth roads. After taking it into The Tri Shop, they found that some of the washers that the spoke nuts are adjusted upon have deteriorated. The rear wheel has also been creaking for a while now so that’s obviously on it’s way out too. I’ve now gone back to the Mavic CXP30 rims on Ultegra hubs.

3 thoughts on “My Week in Training – Week 14

      • Feel free, there’s no magic, just determination and hard work. Nice when you get to Paris though, hoping to repeat the ride as a group with a few like-minded friends in 2012, shame you weren’t going a year later!

Leave a Reply

