My Week in Training – Week 9

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Link
Wed, 2nd Mar 2011 34 2:13:16 Road 15.5 Garmin
Sat, 5th Mar 2011 32 2:07:12 Road 15.0 Garmin
Sun,6th Mar 2011 31 1:42:07 Road 17.4 Garmin

I normally ride up Beachy Head as a single large loop of 25 miles but after a conversation with Josh Cunningham where he mentioned a loop of Beachy Head, which he does as interval training, I decided to give it a try.

Wednesday morning’s cold NE winds made the uphills quite hard work. The downhills were wind assisted hence the top speed. I actually only intended to do 2 laps but felt quite good and ended up putting a third one in. I did try and push it for this session. I used the Fondriest and didn’t go below 42×17. My Heart Rate got up to 183bpm on the first climbs, which was strange as only a week ago I did a Maximum HR test which worked out to be 181bpm. Obviously, I didn’t push myself hard enough for the test. All in all, I was very pleased with this ride.

Saturday, I rode my normal Beachy Head 25 with Toby Field but we added an extra lap of Beachy Head, increasing the total mileage to 32 miles. It was very cold with temperature just over freezing with a moderate NE wind. As it was dry, I took the Fondriest. Felt quite strong on the hills. Obviously the added mileages and hills I’ve been riding lately are paying off.

Sunday was still very cold with a moderate North Easterly wind. Went out to Hastings for a 30 mile out and back. The out was slow wit a headwind but the return was quite fast. I did this at level 4 and felt quite strong.

Leave a Reply

