My Week in Training – Week 8

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Link
Wed, 23rd Feb 2011 52 3:17:54 Road 15.9 Garmin
Sat, 26th Feb 2011 31 2:09:11 Road 14.8 Garmin
Sun, 27th Feb 2011 52 3:06:00 Road 16.8 No data

Tuesday, I took a Maximum Heart Rate test: 181bpm.

Wednesdays are now my official days off so, I took the opportunity to test out my newly calculated training levels. I went out in the rain on the Trek and rode to level 3. The difference between the old levels and the new ones are that the new ones are about 10bmp lower. This turned out to be an easy ride with relatively less recovery than I normally would have needed fo that length of ride. This has confirmed that recently, I have been riding at too high an intensity. All in all, I’m very pleased with these new results.

Saturday, I rode a leisurely 32 miles with Toby Field on really filthy roads. It had rained quite a bit overnight but managed to stay dry whilst out.

Sunday morning was lovely with a clear blue skies, although still quite cold. Originally, I was going to do a 25 miler at quite high intensity but decided, because of the weather, to do another long one. The only problem was that, yesterday, after charging my Garmin Edge GPS, I obviously forgot to switch it off as this morning, the battery was totally flat. Out I went anyway, with the Fondriest, and had a really good ride. I had no information on Heart Rate, Speed or Distance so tried to ride with cadence and breathing in mind. The NW winds made to first half quite hard going but the return and the hills were wind assisted. On my return, I made the calculations and worked out that I had done the 52 miles in 16.8mph. Very pleased!

Aztec Road Brake Blocks

Aztec Road Brake Blocks

Taking the Fondriest in the dry was the first time I was able to evaluate the Aztec Black Blocks recently bought from The TriStore in Eastbourne. At the bottom of the Friston Hill, in East Dean, I turn right and head for Birling Gap. Slowing for that junction from a speed of 30+mph was very easy, with noticeably less pressure needed on the brake levers compared to that of the original Ultegra brake blocks. Highly recommended.

4 thoughts on “My Week in Training – Week 8

  1. I did checked out a few of your Garmin logs beforehand, and yes, it seemed you pushed yourself way too hard. And constantly, not in intervals.
    I’m no training expert, but considering your 181 bpm max, I think you still do your rides with too much constant intensity.
    Or I do mine too low, but then how come I lost almost 4 kgs in 2 months?

Leave a Reply

