My Week in Training – Week 7

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Link
Wed, 16th Feb 2011 44 2:40:04 Road 16.5 Garmin
Sat, 19th Feb 2011 34 2:17:13 Road 15.0 Garmin

I had a day off work on Wednesday and what a beautiful day it was. Blue skies and no wind but the temperatures could have been a bit higher for my liking. My normal 52 mile ride (Sovereign Harbour-Hailsham-Lewes-Newhaven-Sovereign Harbour) is mainly all on main roads. I thought I’d try and cut across left, before Lewes, and go down some very quiet lanes down to Alfriston. Sure enough, they were quiet but, they were also very wet and muddy (slippery). I may wait until the summer before I do that one again. Doing this cuts the circuit by 8 miles. I did stay nicely within Level 3 though.

Saturday was the only day, this weekend, I’d be able to go out but the weather was awful: rain clearing in the afternoon, according to the forecast. The trouble was that it didn’t clear until about 4pm. Anyway, I set off with Toby Field at 2pm in horrible drizzly rain. It was the first time I’d met Toby who is relatively new to cycling. He started cycling as part of his weight loss programme just under a year ago and, in that time, has lost a whopping 6.5 stone. If anyone needs a bit of inspiration, check out his blog.

This was the first time I’d ridden with anyone else in a long time. It turned out to be a much more leisurely ride than I normally would have done on my own. In part, it was down to the adverse weather conditions but also, it was down to the fact that we chatted a lot of the time. As a result, I felt a lot fresher and less tired at the end than I would have done on most of my other rides. It just goes to show that when I’m out on my own, I tend to push myself quite a bit more than I should, which makes going out with the intention of doing a ride at a certain intensity a bit of a joke as I always seem to go over that intended level. Especially as at this time of year, low level steady rides should make up the bulk of my training plan. Anyway, thanks Toby for a good ride.

2 thoughts on “My Week in Training – Week 7

  1. Cheers for joining me. I find it difficult to get motivated to ride on my own at this time of year. I knew in advance that you ride faster than me and hoped I wouldn’t be to slow for you. I’m glad my pace was of a benefit to you.

    Can’t wait to try one of your rides.

Leave a Reply

