My Week in Training – Week 3

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Link
Wed, 19th Jan 2011 24.54 1:31:55 Road 16.0 Garmin
Sat, 22nd Jan 2011 32.32 2:02:33 Road 15.8 Garmin
Sun, 23rd Jan 2011 29.71 1:50:02 Road 16.2 Garmin

Last week ended with me starting a cold on Sunday morning. Luckily this wasn’t a lengthy flu, but just a heavy cold which lasted until Tuesday. Wednesday, I was able to breathe out of both nostrils and as it was the first day with clear blue skies in a long while and the fact that I had the day off work, I decided to go out for a ride.

My main training ride is a 25 mile loop starting at Sovereign Harbour and going clockwise through Pevensey, Stone Cross, Polegate, East Dean, Beachy Head, Eastbourne Sea Front and then back home. Last week I was asked why I did this route in an anti-clockwise direction. When I first rode this route, I did used to do it clockwise but I have since ridden it mainly in an anti-clockwise direction. So today, I did it in a clockwise direction. I think I prefer it anti-clockwise. The difference being that in an anti-clockwise direction, the hills are more progressive as opposed to the hills being short and sharp in a clockwise diirection. Also, the Jevington Road is in an awfull state dis-repair which when done at speed, clockwise, doesn’t make for a comfortable ride at all.

Saturday morning was dry but very cold. I used my new neck wrap which kept me nice and warm (Highly recommended in this weather – Buff Headwear/Scarf). I decided to take the Fondriest as the local roads appeared to be dry but forgot that part of this ride goes through some very heavy farming country and flooding near Rickney. I’ve never seen the bike so filthy (I know what I’ll be doing this afternoon!).

Sunday, I decided to try a flat course in order to test my HR again, so went all along the seafront to just beyond the pier at Hastings and back. Recently, although I had intended to ride at Level 3, my HR would end up being sky high. On this ride, I did manage to keep it to a reasonable level, which obviously shows that my fitness level is on the increase.

Leave a Reply

