My Week in Training – Week 2

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Link
Thu, 13th Jan 2011 1:00:00 Turbo Level 2 Garmin
Fri, 14th Jan 2011 1:00:00 Turbo Level 2 Garmin
Sat, 15th Jan 2011 26.63 1:37:28 Road 15.2 Garmin

Due to work commitments and the weather, I haven’t been able to do much until Thursday when I went to the London Bike Show. It was a bit disappointing as it wasn’t very well attended; not by visitors but by exhibitors. Compared to last year’s Earls Court show, it was probably only a third of the size. As compensation, the Bike Show tickets got you into the Outdoors show as well as the boat show. When I got back home I did an hour on the turbo at Level 2.

On Friday, the weather was awful. I had a day off work so should really have gone out but decided to do another Turbo session instead at Level 2.  This was at the same level as yesterday but I was able to push a higher resistance for the same HR so I must be going in the right direction.

Saturday, with 15mph SSW winds, was quite a hard day. Gusts of 28mph made the first 15 miles very hard work. Then, from Birling Gap, it was fast. Hadn’t intended to ride at such a high HR but with those conditions, it was impossible not to. It’s still only my 3rd outing since the Hernia Operation so I was quite pleased with it. The last time I did this ride was on the 10th Nov 2010. I rode it 5 minutes faster then, under better conditions and better fitness level.

Sunday’s out. I’ve woken up with a runny nose and sore throat. Best stay off the bike and try and shake this cold off.

Leave a Reply

