My Week in Training – Week 1

Date Miles Time Type Avg Speed (MPH) Link
Mon, 3rd Jan 2011 29.85 1:55:36 Road 15.5 Garmin
Sat, 8th Jan 2011 1:00:00 Turbo Level 2 Garmin
Sun, 9th Jan 2011 29.74 1:50:36 Road 16.1 Garmin

Went out for a very flat 30 mile ride, on Monday, along the seafront to Hastings and back. This was my first ride since my Hernia Repair Operation, 6 weeks ago. Didn’t feel to too bad. I took it nice and easy but couldn’t keep my HR down to the level at which I had intended to ride. I assume this is due to the fact that, at the moment, I am quite unfit.

On Wednesday, my left cheek swelled up. I turned out to be a blocked saliva duct. The next day, the right cheek joined in the fun! It didn’t improve until Friday. It wasn’t painful as such, it’s just that every time I produced saliva, my cheeks would swell up like a hamster’s. The trouble is that with my wife’s cooking, that’s easily done.

Saturday, the weather didn’t look too good, with high winds and rain forecast, so I did a 1 hour Level 2 session on the Turbo. I was happy with this session as I was able to easily stay within Level 2, unlike Monday’s road session.

Sunday was a lovely cold day with clear skies. 9 MPH winds from the NW. Went out on the good bike and did the same ride as Monday (Flat to Hastings). Took it easy again and found that my HR was very slightly lower than Mondays and, I beat that time by 5 minutes so, although it’s early days, looks like I’m going in the right direction.

Not too convinced about the 5 training Levels. May look at reverting back to Peter Keen’s 4 levels.

2 thoughts on “My Week in Training – Week 1

Leave a Reply

