First ride in eight weeks

I went out this afternoon for the first time in 8 weeks. The lay off the bike was due to the fact that I’ve had a hernia repair operation. I decided to do a straight out and back, 30 miles, on very flat roads thinking that if I should get some pain or discomfort, I could easily turn back, but it was fine. It was cold though. Just above freezing, but I was well wrapped up although I did start to feel the cold in the last 5 miles.

The purpose of this ride was not only to test my recovery from the operation but to try out my new training strategy as described in one of my previous posts. The recovery turned out to be fine but my training strategy went totally out of the window. I had intended to ride the 30 miles at Level 2 which I had worked out to be between 145 and 155 BPM. I tried to ride at a cadence of 80-90 RPM but no matter how hard I tried, or should I say how slowly I tried, I couldn’t get my HR below 175 BPM. In fact, my average HR for the ride turned out to be 173 BPM. To see the stats for this ride, click here.

So, what am I doing wrong? I’m assuming that it’s due to the fact that I’m actually quite unfit at the moment, and that as such, anaerobic/aerobic thresholds and pre-calculated training intensity levels are skewed until such time as I reach a reasonable level of fitness.

Update (23rd January 2011) – It’s 20 days since the above ride and I’ve now done 172 miles in training, as well as 3hrs on the Turbo Trainer. My last ride, which was on the flat, was riden specifically to see if I could stay within a pre-determined HR zone. The result is that, for the good part of the ride, I was able to keep my HR to within Level 3.

I feel that I was therefore correct in my assumption that, as an unfit rider, your HR is going to be much higher for the same effort, as that of a fit rider. The answer therefore is to keep training and increase my fitness. Problem solved!

Any observations would be most welcome.

Leave a Reply

