My Week in Training – Week 33

Date Kms Time Type Avg Speed (KPH) Links
Mon, 15th Aug 2011 84 2:53:15 Road 29.0 Strava Garmin
Wed, 17th Aug 2011 76 2:43:39 Road 28.1 Strava - Garmin
Fri, 19th Aug 2011 76 2:48:52 Road 27.3 Strava - Garmin
Sat, 20th Aug 2011 40 1:22:11 Road 28.9 Strava - Garmin

On Monday, I took it nice and easy. I also took the oportunity to test the new wheels, the Miche Reflex Wheelset, which I’d bought the previous day from Evans Cycles for £121. For the price, they are really good. I took the Fondriest out and so, can only compare them to my Mavic Carbonne SLs. They are definitely less twitchy in a cross wind although, they don’t have that gyroscopic effect of the Mavics, or the road noise effect. The Miche are slightly heavier than the Mavics and not as fast but then, the Mavics are 6 times the price of the Miche. All in all, I am very pleased with them and and look forward to using them in France.

On Wednesday, I had planned to ride to Bewl Water. After a few miles, I caught up with a couple of local riders, Greg from Bexhill and Chris from Eastbourne. They were doing a shorter loop to Mountfield, returning via Bexhill, so I decided to go with them for the company and new scenery, as I hadn’t riden on the roads they were suggesting. This turned out to be a great route. Quite hilly but nothing too strenuous.

On Friday, I decided to do it again, while testing my new ContourHD 1080p Sports Camcorder.

It is over 11minutes long but this was an experiment to see how the editing features turned out on the final edit. Although I’ll be taking the camcorder with me, don’t worry; I won’t publish it mile for mile.

Saturday, I went out on the Trek in order to test the bike for the last time. There were no rattles, just a few squeaks which shouldn’t be too difficult to cure.

And that’s it, as far as training is concerned. I’ve just got a few admin tasks to keep me busy until I leave for France on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

