Welcome to my Blog

Dear Reader,

Welcome to my blog. Follow me as I plan and execute my quest to ride the route of the 2011 Tour de France.

I’ve been into cycling all my life. Whether this is a throwback from my French heritage, I don’t know. I just know that I like riding my bike.

The first bike I saved up for and bought myself was a Dawes 10 speed racer, when I was about 11 years old. It cost me £52. Since then, I’ve had numerous bikes, both road and mountain bikes and have Time Trialled throughout the ’90s with the Charlotteville Cycling Club of Guildford.

A few months ago, just after the 2010 Tour de France, I decided to ride the route of the 2011 Tour de France. I didn’t actually know where the route would take me as it hadn’t been announced but whatever it was, I would ride it.

This blog will follow the planning stages of this project as well as the actual ride on a day to day basis. I will publish the route every day using my Garmin GPS, plotted on Google Maps, and will include speed, elevation and Heart Rate graphs.

I would very much like to hear your views so please, leave comments.

Follow me on Twitter (http://twitter.com/jfphillips62) for update notifications.

Jean-François Phillips

 

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my Blog

  1. Very good luck to you.
    I heard that the 2011 tour would go through Issoire, so not very far from your roots !
    All the best.

Leave a Reply

